The Etterbeek Man

Februarie 21, 2014

One beautiful spring day last year, I crossed roads in central Brussels with this man. He was wearing what you see in the image, except his top. He was not wearing a t-shirt either. Bare from the waste up, with his jacket in one hand, he was marching up the road leading into Parc Royal . It must have been around April. People were still wearing coats and hats. The lingering winter gusts didn’t seem to bother him. His full head of hair added to his sphinx like expression. His face was the resemblance of the joint figures of an orchestra director and a former Iron Man contender. One could assume that his sunken cheeks were slimmed by decade-long, persistent city wanders. His image stuck in my mind. He was such a contrast in the habitat of European Commission and Parliament quarters. A random, unexplainable question came to mind: Has he ever used any vehicle for transportation?

About two or three month ago, I was blessed again with his rare appearance. I was walking to the office after a late lunch when he suddenly appeared from a side road and  walked right into the street I was walking. Trembling I reached for the small camera I carry with me most of the time nowadays thinking that this fascinating rare species had to be immortalised. Unfortunately he was quite far in front of me and I could not catch his face. Maybe next time.

The Etterbeek Man

The Etterbeek Man

„Etterbeek man ” on 5th of march 2014

 

 

